BTSync (BitTorrent Sync) Trash

I’ve been using BTSync since it was released as an Alpha. Overall I am very happy with its’ performance and abilities, I can sync what I want, where I want. I’m not locked in to a particular folder to sync to and from. I did notice that my folders, over time, were taking up more space than they should. Here is what I found. Anytime you delete something from a synced folder on the destination machine (the computer that did not originate the sync) that data is moved to an invisible folder called .SyncTrash on the source machine (the computer that originated the sync of data). This is a nice safe guard, but in the long run it can bloat quite fast. And I do not see an option to empty this folder from BTSync’s menu. So for now I have on a regular basis will manually empty it. Depending on your OS, you have multiple ways and programs to show invisible folders.

BTSync

UPDATE 07-17-2013: Today version 1.1.42 (a beta release) was available for download. Among other fixes and updates, such as Android support, the .SyncTrash folder is now called .SyncArchive.

BTSync-1.1.42

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Linux, Macintosh, Windows

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 194 other followers

Categories
Flickr Photos
Martin Scorsese

Alfred Hitchcock

Crater Lake

More Photos
Archives
Colophon
wordpress com stats plugin
%d bloggers like this: